EHS grad inducted into Hall of Fame

ELLSWORTH — An Ellsworth High School graduate, John Edes, has been selected as an inductee to the Maine Basketball Hall of Fame in the class of 2015.

Edes led the Ellsworth boys’ basketball team to the 1954 New England Championships. The Eagles competed in the finals in front of 13,000 fans at the Boston Gardens, where Edes scored 27 points in Ellsworth’s 54-53 loss to Hillhouse.

The Maine Basketball Hall of Fame also is honoring the 1954 Ellsworth boys’ basketball team led by Coach Charlie Katsiaficas, after whom the EHS gymnasium – Katsiaficas Gymnasium – is named.

Edes finished high school with a career total of 1,227 points. He was an All-Maine selection for three years from 1952-1954 as well as an All-New England selection in 1954.

Edes continued his basketball career at Colby College, where he established himself as one of the Mules’ greatest players.

Other inductees of the 2015 class include Roger Reed, Bruce MacGregor, Art Dyer, Dwight Littlefield, Gene Hunter, Dick Barstow, Dick Meader, Bob Warner, Gary Towle, Wayne Champeon, Dan Drinon, Edward “Bo” McFarland, Maureen Burchill Cooper, Ted Shiro, Peter Kelley, Denis Clark, Nick Scaccia, Emily Ellis, Marcie Lane Schulenburg, Steve Condon, Ray Bishop, Paul Fortin, Keith Mahaney, Liz Coffin, John Norris, Jack Coyne, Peter Webb and Ed Marchetti.

These athletes will receive official recognition Aug. 23 in Bangor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.