Eden Athletics Awards

BAR HARBOR — Eden Athletics held its annual awards banquet Sunday and handed out awards to point leaders from each age group.

Lloyd Harmon and Robin Clarke were the overall champions with the most first-place finishes in at least six races.

Clarke had 60 points in those six races, 93 total points for the season and 10 finishes, and Harmon, 75, had 60 points, 79 total points and 8 finishes.

Runners from age 5-77 participated in races in 2016.

The runners with the most finishes, 12 each, were Robin Emery and Chris Heel.

The overall points leaders from all races run were Emery and Spencer Grierson, each with 103 points.

The youngest member runner to complete a race was Una Richardson, 5, and the most senior member was Mary Alice Bruce, 77.

There were five member runners with perfect 60 scores in their top six races.

Runners also were awarded for winning their age divisions. Scores from the additional races are used to break the ties.

The women winners were Addison Harper (0-10); Wentworth (20-29); Laura Anderson (30-39); Clarke (40-49); Lisa Kearns (50-59); Emery (60-69) and Bruce (70-79).

For the men, Grierson (0-10); Evan Merchant (11-19); Heel (20-29); Andrew Kephart (30-39); Zach Gilhooley (40-49); Andrew Tiemann (50-59); Thomas Murphy (60-69); Harmon (70-79).

Three Eden Athletics runners represented their schools in middle school cross-country competition, and two club members represented their high schools at the high school state cross-country meet.

Eden welcomes runners interested in joining the running club and participating in the 16-race points series. The first race of 2017 is the Flat Top 5K in Lamoine.

For more information, visit www.edenathletics.com or “Eden Athletics on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.