When lobsterman Genevieve McDonald opted not to run for reelection after serving two terms in the Maine House of Representatives, two people from lobstering families stepped up to run for what is now House District 15: Democrat Holly Eaton of Deer Isle and Republican Jason Joyce of Swan’s Island.

District 15 is unique. Deer Isle, Stonington, Swan’s Island, Frenchboro, Southwest Harbor and Tremont are all island communities. Four of the six are connected to the mainland by bridge, Swan’s and Frenchboro are water access-only. Only Brooklin is a mainland town, though it, too, is on the coast and has a lobster fishery and a well-known boatbuilding heritage.

Recommended for you