Society names permanent director

Carol Petraitis has shared some exciting news with us: “It is with great pleasure that the Board of Trustees announces that Jeanne Hoyle has been named Executive Director of the Swan’s Island Educational Society. Her appointment comes as a result of a unanimous (and joyous) vote at the May 2018 Board of Trustees meeting. In October 2017, Jeanne was named as Interim Executive Director. Over the past eight months, Jeanne has more than risen to the occasion. Her commitment to our mission is unwavering, and her leadership is inspiring the organization. A transition to new leadership can be challenging to any organization, particularly when replacing a long-time executive director. Together we have navigated the transition with barely a ripple in the water. We have seen a surge in new volunteers and a rededication among existing volunteers, our finances remain strong, and our programming is exciting and creative. Stop by the library and congratulate Jeanne. We are all so lucky to have her.”

Rebekah Amburg Davis reported that the pie-dessert auction to benefit the Island Bible Camp Fund raised $1,955 for the young people to go to Christ-centered camps. They also had additional donations come in. She said, “The generosity of our community continues to amaze me. We are blessed to live here! We will try to have another one sometime in August.”

Mark your calendars for the official opening of the Burnt Coat Harbor Light Station on Tuesday, June 26. The Keeper’s House will open Tuesday through Friday from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. and Saturday from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.; the tower will open the same hours as the Keeper’s House this year. Both the Keeper’s House and the tower are closed on Sunday and Monday. Bev McAloon has told us that our summer exhibit “Maritime Women on Swan’s Island” is loaded with information on over 66 women from the late 19th-century to the present day. Hope to see you soon at the lighthouse.

Happy birthday to Fionn Moynihan Stinson, Spencer Paul Rose, Ed Schwabe, Jeanne Hoyle, Hope LeMoine, Bonnie Hopkins, Myron “Sonny” Sprague, Kimberly Haller and Earl Lowell. Anniversary blessings to Nathan and Anna Joy Ward, Jake and June Rabatin, Robert and Barbara Gardner, and Virginia and Jacques Cesbron.

Kimberly Haller

Kimberly Haller

If you have news to share, email or call me by Sunday noon if you need it to be included in the following edition. Email me at [email protected]or call me at 526-4488.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.