Islander students

Send submissions and photographs for Islander Students to [email protected]


Cast on

dean’s list

GREAT BARRINGTON, Mass.—Sierra Cast of Bar Harbor has earned a place on the Dean’s List at Bard College at Simon’s Rock for the spring semester. To be eligible for this honor, a student must carry 14 or more credits and achieve a grade point average of 3.5.



at UNH

DURHAM, N.H. — Emma Watras of Seal Cove was named to the Dean’s List with High Honors at the University of New Hampshire for the spring 2018 semester.

Students named to the Dean’s List earned recognition through their superior scholastic performance during a semester enrolled in a full-time course load (12 or more graded credits). “High Honors” designation recognizes a grade point average between 3.65 and 3.84.



dean’s list

FARMINGTON — Conor Crandall of Bar Harbor, Jordan Seavey of Bass Harbor, Paige LeDuc of Salsbury Cove and Hailey Craig of Trenton were named to the Dean’s List for the spring 2018 semester at the University of Maine at Farmington.

UMF maintains a Dean’s List each semester for those students completing a minimum of 12 credits and earning a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.




PURCHASE, New York — Caroline Homer of Southwest Harbor graduated Summa Cum Laude from Purchase College, SUNY with a Bachelor of Music in Vocal Performance May 18.



earns masters

GREENVILLE, N.C. — Katherine Bromberg of Bar Harbor graduated with a MS degree in Marriage & Family Therapy from East Carolina University May 4.


UMA dean’s list

AUGUSTA — Mount Desert Island students named to the Dean’s List at the University of Maine at Augusta for the spring 2018 semester include McKenzie Young of Bar Harbor, Jessica Bass of Bar Harbor, Isabel Keene of Northeast Harbor and Kiersten Rounseville of Seal Harbor.

To qualify for the full-time Dean’s List, students must complete a minimum of 12 credit hours of 100-level or higher UMA coursework and maintain a semester grade point average in these courses of 3.25 or higher.

UMA recognizes part-time students annually by naming them to a part-time Dean’s List. To qualify, students must complete a minimum of 12 credit hours of 100-level or higher coursework during two consecutive semesters in an academic year (fall and spring); take no more than 11 credit hours of 100-level coursework in either semester, and achieve a combined grade point average of 3.25 or higher over the two consecutive semesters.



on dean’s list

NORTON, Mass. — Chelsea Schroeder, a resident of Southwest Harbor was named to the Dean’s List at Wheaton College for the spring 2018 semester. She is the daughter of David Schroeder and Kim Schroeder.

Students who earn a grade point average for the semester of 3.50 or higher are named to the Dean’s List.




BAR HARBOR — Mount Desert Island High School 2018 graduates Takanao Ishimura, Alicia Norberg, and Dorothy LeMoine have received Bar Harbor Bank & Trust’s scholarship awards of $500 each. Over the years Bar Harbor Bank & Trust established scholarships in memory of long-term Bank employees and directors. For many years these scholarships have been awarded to local high school graduating seniors to help offset the cost of attending college.

Takanao Ishimura of Bar Harbor was awarded the Albert H. Cunningham scholarship for 2018. Takanao plans to attend the University of Pennsylvania. Albert H. Cunningham was involved with the bank for 51 years, beginning in 1929, serving as director, treasurer, vice president and chairman.

Alicia Norberg of Southwest Harbor was awarded the Horace E. Bucklin scholarship for 2018. Alicia plans to attend St. Joseph’s College. Horace E. Bucklin was a prominent Northeast Harbor contractor who was involved in several Bank branch construction projects. He was elected as a Bar Harbor Bank & Trust director in 1941 and served later as Chairman of the Board from 1980 to 1983.

Dorothy LeMoine of Swan’s Island was awarded the Carroll C. Brown scholarship for 2018. Dorothy plans to attend St. Joseph’s College. Carroll C. Brown was appointed to the Bar Harbor Bank & Trust board of directors in 1938 and in the 1970s Mr. Brown was the first to fill the newly revived post of Chairman of the Board.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.