Geek mystery writer to visit Jesup



BAR HARBOR — Small-town librarian Max Wirestone will be at the Jesup Memorial Library on Thursday, Oct. 29, at 7 p.m. Wirestone’s first book, “The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss,” is perfect for fans of “The Guild,” “New Girl,” “Scott Pilgrim,” “The Big Bang Theory” or “Veronica Mars,” or anyone who has ever geeked out about something.

Dahlia Moss is 26, unemployed, broke and on her last bowl of ramen. Then she’s offered $2,000 and a job, one that she’s massively unqualified for, as a private detective. Suddenly, her employer is dead, and she thinks that she can find out who the killer is by playing a massive multiplayer online role-playing game called Kingdoms of Zoth. Now, she has to solve two mysteries, one in the game and one in real life.

Wirestone started working on the Dahlia Moss novel when he noticed that readers of mystery were often “geek” readers.

Books will be on sale at the Jesup that night, with a percentage of sales donated to the library. Sherman’s is a co-sponsor of this event.

Contact the Jesup at 288-4245 or email [email protected]. Visit maxwirestone.com.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.