Mike Thompson at the helm of Dulcinea Sunday in the pursuit race for the Henry Reath Trophy. PHOTO COURTESY OF SUE CHARLES

Sailing Leaderboard

Northeast Harbor Fleet

Independence Day Regatta – All boats


Courtney Jenkins in Eagle took home the win in the Independence Day Regatta in Northeast Harbor. Jenkins, who has 16 series points, leads the 14-boat field. Rick Echard in Firefly and Scott Redmon in Gosling are tied for second with 18 points.


Series standings

1        Courtney Jenkins

2        Rick Echard

3        Scott Redmon

4        David Schoeder

5        Tim Nagle

6        David Rockefeller

7        Tom Fremont-Smith

8        Syd Roberts Rockefeller

9        Daphne Lyman

10      Sean Beaulieu


Southwest Harbor Fleet

July Series – Luders


After a short weather delay, light winds carried the eight-boat field through the first race of the July Series last week. Bill Smith in Freight Train took home the victory with Alec Fisichella in Ludicrous and Wills Bacon in Mary Jane rounding out the top three.


Race results

1        Bill Smith

2        Alec Fisichella

3        Wells Bacon

4        Connor Ratcliff

5        Jim Fernald

6        Ken Brooks

7        David Folger

8        Rick Wheeler


The Northeast Harbor Fleet

Henry Reath Trophy – All boats


Ken Weg in Ranger brought home the overall victory in the Henry Reath Trophy on Sunday – his first-ever victory in the race. This is Ranger’s first victory in the Reath Trophy and it was a real nail biter for the boat, which was constructed on MDI in 2016-17.

The race is handicapped based on the projected speed of the boat, so many classes could participate. The smaller and slower boats get a head start and then the big fast boats have to chase them down with the first boat to the finish the actual winner.

15 boats were on the line under a stunning blue sky with a 10-12 knot sea breeze from the southwest, race organizer Fran Charles said.

All boats finished within 13 minutes of each other after sailing around the Cranberries and Baker Island and back to Gilpatrick Cove in Northeast Harbor.

“What was especially amazing about this year’s finish was that the first four boats finished all overlapped together on a beam reach with huge asymmetrical spinnakers flying and flogging,” Charles said.

Ned Johnston in Domino was the first Luders finisher, Mary and Wells Bacon in Antares were the first non-Spinnaker finishers, Ellen Inness in Ondine was the first youth and woman finisher, Jean Beaulieu in Biscuit was the first All Family finisher and Connor Ratcliff in Eagle was the first IOD finisher.


Race results

1        Ken Weg

2        Mike Cook

3        Joe Weber

4        Stephen Madeira

5        Ned Johnston

6        Tom Rolfes

7        Mary and Wells Bacon

8        Ellen McInnes

9        Drew Hopkins

10      Jean Beaulieu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.