Incumbent Town Councilor Peter St. Germain was among those elected to public office in Bar Harbor Annual Town Meeting balloting on Tuesday.

Voters elect councilors, school board

BAR HARBOR — Voters in the annual town meeting elections Tuesday chose two members of the town council. Also elected were members of the school committee and the school district trustees.

Town Clerk Pat Gray reported total turnout was 19 percent as residents sent incumbents Gary Friedmann and Peter St. Germain back to the town council. Friedmann had 418 votes, and St. Germain had 380. Gray released official results at 10:40 p.m.

Write-in council candidates Matthew Hochman and Christopher Walsh had 240 and 210 votes, respectively.

Dwayne Bolt was elected with 33 write-in votes to fill the two-year term on the superintending school committee vacated this year by Ronald Wrobel. Melisa Rowland won reelection to a three-year superintending school committee seat with 543 votes. Robert L. Jordan Jr. was elected to a three-year term as MDI School District trustee with 532 votes.

Liz Graves

Liz Graves

Reporter at Mount Desert Islander
Former Islander reporter and editor Liz Graves grew up in California and came to Maine as a schooner sailor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.