Future of Maine Scholarship winners pose with certificates at the Jesup Memorial Library. PHOTO COURTESY OF CAROL ROSINSKI

Essays win Future of Maine Scholarships

BAR HARBOR — A Future of Maine Scholarship celebration was held at the Jesup Memorial Library in May for students from across AOS #91.

Sixth-grade students wrote “Future of Maine” essays as part of their English/language arts classes. The essays were reviewed by a committee and 30 students were awarded $100 scholarships.

Elena Alderman, Gavin Dow, Heather Finger and Alden Ford of Trenton Elementary School received awards.

Recipients from Mount Desert Elementary school included Jacob Benson, Whitaker Chaplin, Azaria Long, Grace Munger, Faith Reece, Henning Reinholdt, Emily Sawyer, Sam Schleif and Elizah Wales.

From Conners Emerson school, students receiving awards were Chloe Bolt, Callahan Bryer, Emily Carter, Abigail Casey, Lily Crandall, Bailey Goodell, Blake Grindle, Sirohi Kumar and Ruby Mahoney.

From Pemetic Elementary, Aries Giddens, Olivia Gray, Caroline Musson, Wilder Noyes and Ella Tran Izenour earned awards.

Kaleena Higgins, Katie Soukup and Delaney Sweeney of the Tremont Consolidated School won also.

The program is supported by Machias Savings Bank, Dead River Company, Bar Harbor Savings & Loan, The First, UNUM, The Bar Harbor Parent/Teacher/Student Association, The Pemetic Parent/Teacher Organization, The Trenton Parent/Teacher Committee and the nonprofit Maine College Circle. Thanks go to Bob Stuart of Maine College Circle and Ruth Eveland, director of the Jesup, for organizing the event.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.