Dudman re-elected selectman; Chaplin wins school seat

MOUNT DESERT — Martha Dudman was re-elected to a three-year term on the Board of Selectmen in voting here Monday.

She outpolled Stephanie Reece 181-123.

School Committee member Heather Jones, who ran unopposed, was re-elected to a three-year term with 230 votes.

Three people who did not file for election but ran as write-in candidates for an open seat on the School Committee received votes: Kate Chaplin, 73, Tracy Miller, 70, and Keith Johnston, 41.

That result means that Chaplin will serve a one-year term, with the seat being up for election again next May.

Chaplin also received eight write-in votes for one of Mount Desert’s seats on the MDI High School Trustees Board. She has accepted that post as well, and will serve a one-year term.

Tony Smith was re-elected to a three-year term as a high school trustee.

Mount Desert’s open floor town meeting will be held tonight, May 8, starting at 6 p.m. in the elementary school gym.

UPDATE: An earlier version of this story contained preliminary results. When official vote counts were released Tuesday, Miller and Johnston’s vote counts had changed slightly.

Dick Broom

Dick Broom

Reporter at Mount Desert Islander
Dick Broom covers the towns of Mount Desert and Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island High School and the school system board and superintendent's office. He enjoys hiking with his golden retriever and finding new places for her to swim. [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.