Brian Booher of Bar Harbor directs the Bar Harbor Town Band in its last song of the 2014 season this past August. FILE PHOTO

Bandstand to expand

BAR HARBOR — The Town Council granted permission Tuesday for some work on the bandstand in the Village Green to accommodate a growing Town Band.

“The Town Band is experiencing a good problem: it’s growing,” Public Works Director Chip Reeves told councilors. “There’s not enough seating space on the bandstand, so band director Brian Booher and a couple of members came to the parks and recreation committee with a temporary expansion plan.”

The plan calls for adding removable platforms along two sides of the octagonal structure to be set up and removed for each concert.

“Even if we go to a more permanent situation next year, that would be the case, they’d be removed at the end of the night,” Reeves said. “We’ve rigged up a trailer so the bandstand chairs will be taken care of by the band. They’ll put those platforms right in that trailer, and they’ll store it down by the highway garage. That eliminates some overtime from the highway crew because we used to have to have someone come in and get the chairs.”

Highway department crews will work to transplant some shrubbery, adjust the irrigation system and relocate the monument dedicating the bandstand to former band director Don Wood. Booher and Gary Baker, who sponsored the monument, agreed on the new location.


Councilors Tuesday also unanimously approved nominations to town boards and committees: Ellen Dohmen and Roger Samuel to the Appeals Board, Michael Blythe to the Assessment Review Board and Michael Handwerk and Jill Weber to the Conservation Commission.

James Collier and Jane Disney were approved for the Hancock County Planning Commission, and town Planning Director Robert Osbourne will serve as an alternate member.

Three appointments to the Cruise Ship Committee were confirmed: Kenneth Smith, representing a downtown business; Eben Salvatore, representing “the entity receiving cruise ship tenders;” and Nancy McKechnie, representing the Chamber of Commerce.

Francis (Pancho) Cole and Martha Searchfield will continue on the Design Review Committee and Ronald Landis, Lawrence Nuesslein and Juanita Young on the Harbor Committee. Matthew Gerald and Ronald Landis will serve on the Marine Resources Committee, Vernon (Sandy) McFarland on the Parking and Traffic committee, John Kelly and Deborah Page on the Parks and Recreation committee and Basil Eleftheriou Jr. and Ivan Rasmussen on the Planning Board.

No applications were received for the Housing Authority executive board. Councilor Clark Stivers agreed to continue on the Communication Technology Task Force. Councilors Burt Barker and Peter St. Germain will remain on the Joint Budget Advisory Committee. Councilor Anne Greenlee will continue on the Route 3 Task Force.

Liz Graves

Liz Graves

Reporter at Mount Desert Islander
Former Islander reporter and editor Liz Graves grew up in California and came to Maine as a schooner sailor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.